Florida State Application Processing - Grandfather Registered License to Certified License ($475 - $650)
Grandfathering allows a currently registered contractor to apply for and receive a statewide certified contractor's license in their same category of licensure without sitting for the state contractor's examination if the contractor meets certain criteria set forth in Florida Statutes 489.118.
WHICH FLORIDA REGISTERED CONTRACTOR LICENSES CAN BE GRANFATHERED TO CERTIFIED LICENSES?
The following registered licenses can be upgraded to a certified license using the grandfathering method:
|General Contractor||Commercial Pool/Spa|
|Building Contractor||Residential Pool/Spa|
|Residential Contractor||Pool/Spa Servicing|
|Air Conditioning - Class A||Roofing
|Air Conditioning - Class B||Sheet Metal
|Mechanical||Underground Utility and Excavation|
WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS TO GRANDFATHER YOUR FLORIDA REGISTERED CONTRACTOR LICENSE?
Registered contractors who meet the criteria detailed below are able to grandfather their registered license into a certified license. You must:
1. Currently hold a valid registered local license in one of the contractor categories defined in Florida Statute 489.105(3)(a)-(p).
2. Have at least 5 years of experience as a contractor in that contracting category, or as an inspector or building administrator with oversight over that category, at the time of the application. For contractors, only the time periods in which a license is active and the contractor is not on probation shall count towards the 5 year requirement.
3. Have not had his or her contractor’s license revoked at any time, suspended within the last 5 years, or been assessed a fine in excess of $500 in the last 5 years.
4. Meet all other requirements, including financial responsibility, and good moral character requirements.
HOW DO I GET STARTED?
The first step is hiring a professional company to prepare your application for you. We will complete your application and ensure that your application is prepared the correct way to give you the best chance to get approved. We will suggest to you the best avenue to limit the "Red Flags" and to streamline this process. Our application processing fee is $475 - $650 (depending on your trade). This fee is exclusive of the $305 or $205 state application fee (depending on time of submission) and other required costs including but not limited to credit reports and fingerprinting.
*The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulations (DBPR) requires any contractor who does not have final approval in business matters to appoint a Financially Responsible Officer (FRO). Should you require the designation of a FRO, a separate Financially Responsible Officer Application must be filed with the state.